The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is a legal framework that sets guidelines for the collection and processing of personal information from individuals who live in the European Union (EU). Since the Regulation applies regardless of where websites are based, it must be heeded by all sites that attract European visitors, even if they don't specifically market goods or services to EU residents.

The GDPR mandates that EU visitors be given a number of data disclosures. The site must also take steps to facilitate such EU consumer rights as a timely notification in the event of personal data being breached. Adopted in April 2016, the Regulation came into full effect in May 2018, after a two-year transition period.

Customer-Service Requirements of the GDPR

  • Visitors must be notified of data the site collects from them and explicitly consent to that information-gathering, such as with cookies, by clicking on an Agree button or other action.
  • Sites must also notify visitors in a timely way if any of their personal data held by the site is breached.
  • Sites must pass a data security assessment and have a data protection officer (DPO).
  • Site visitors may exercise their EU data rights, which also include the ability to have their presence on the site erased, among other measures.

More detailed information about GDPR ruling is available here.

Videolinq GDPR Compliance Features

Customers who wish to see all data collected about their account follow the steps below.

Step 1:

Login to the customer area and expand the account management tab.

Step 2:

Export all available data associated with your account. Customers can request to close and delete their account. Before closing or deleting the account all pending invoices must be paid.


IMPORTANT: Requests to delete an account are automated and cannot be reversed. Accounts will be deleted within 30 days from the request time. Deletion will include the customer profile, product details, invoices, emails, usage activity reports, support tickets, and all stream configurations, video players, and stored media files. It is the customer responsibility to backup and make copies of all data before it is deleted.

Did this answer your question?